Contents        

Creating a custom template out of your board saves time for the entire team. You don’t have to rework your ideas or visual processes each time you want to use them — they will be saved in the template library for you and your organization.

You can either save an entire board as a template or just selected elements.

NOTE: This feature is only available on the Pro plan.

Creating a custom template from a board

  1. Open the board you’d like to save as a template.

  2. Click on More options in the top right corner.

  3. Select Save as template.

  4. Provide the name of your new template and press Enter or select an existing custom template to overwrite it. 

  5. (Optional) Add a description for your template (it will be visible in the template library).

  6. Enable the switch next to the Public template if you want to share this template with the team.
    If set to public, everyone can use the template and see it in the template library. Don’t enable the switch if you want to keep the template private and only visible to you.

  7. Click Save.

As soon as you’re done, your template will be added at the bottom of the template library, so you can reuse it on any board.

TIP: In the template library, you can see the visibility permissions and the board creator’s avatar in the bottom right corner. A locked padlock means the template is only visible to you in the library. 

Creating a custom template from selected elements

  1. Open the board with the elements you’d like to save as a template.

  2. Press Shift on your keyboard and drag a rectangle to select all the elements you’d like to save as a template.

  3. Click on the ellipsis on the menu above the elements and choose Save as template (you can also right-click on the selected area to access the same menu).

  4. Provide the name of your new template and press Enter or select an existing custom template to overwrite it. 

  5. (Optional) Add a description for your template (it will be visible in the template library).

  6. Enable the switch next to the Public template if you want to share this template with the team
    If set to public, everyone can use the template and see it in the template library. Don’t enable the switch if you want to keep the template private and only visible to you.

  7. Click Save.

Adding a custom template to the board

You can add your custom template to any board without overwriting the content already there. To do so:

  1. Open your board and go to Insert template.

  2. Scroll to the bottom of the template library to see custom templates (or select Type: custom in the top right corner).

  3. Hover over the template and click Use this template.

The template elements will be added to an empty area on your board and you’ll be navigated to it. 

Creating a new board from a custom template

If you want to have a brand new board based on your custom template:

  1. Go to your Dashboard.

  2. Click Create board.

  3. Provide the new board name.

  4. Choose if you want it to be a team board or a private one

  5. Click Change template.

  6. Scroll to the bottom of the template library to see custom templates (or select Type: custom in the top right corner).

  7. Hover over the template and click Use this template.

  8. Click Create board to get a new board based on that template.

Importing a custom template

Public templates are shared within one organization. If you want to add the same custom template to a different organization:

  1. Add your chosen template to the board by following one of the processes above. 

  2. Click on More options in the top right corner.

  3. Click Backup to create a .json file that will contain all your board elements.

  4. Save the backup file on your computer.

  5. Switch to a different Whiteboards organization. 

  6. Create a new board from a template or go to Insert template on an existing board to open the template library

  7. On the template selection step, click Import a template.

  8. Add your .json backup file.

  9. Provide the name of your template and press Enter or select an existing custom template to overwrite it. 

  10. (Optional) Add a description for your template (it will be visible in the template library).

  11. Enable the switch next to the Public template if you want to share this template with the team.
    If set to public, everyone can use the template and see it in the template library. Don’t enable the switch if you want to keep the template private and only visible to you.

  12. Click Save.

Managing custom templates

At any point, you can change the custom template name, description, and visibility or delete it completely from the library. 

To change the board name, description, or visibility:

  1. Open the template library by going to Insert template on your board.

  2. Scroll to the bottom of the template library to see custom templates (or select Type: custom in the top right corner).

  3. Hover over the template and click the vertical ellipsis in the top right corner.

  4. Click Configure.

  5. Change the details you need and click Save.

To delete a template:

  1. Open the template library by going to Insert template on your board.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the template library to see custom templates (or select Type: custom in the top right corner).
  3. Hover over the template and click the vertical ellipsis in the top right corner.
  4. Choose Delete.
  • No labels

This page has no comments.