Our new Appfire Documentation Space is now live!

Take a look here! If you have any questions please email support@appfire.com

Contents        

There's a new Help center!

This documentation page won’t be updated and is going away soon.

Visit https://help.whiteboards.io/ for up-to-date documentation with step-by-step guides, videos, and all the tips&tricks you need to become a Whiteboards master! 


While Whiteboards are a great place for different kinds of individual work too, their secret powers are the collaboration aspects. Work with anyone you want from anywhere, asynchronously or at the same time. Leave comments and reply to them, move elements, and connect via the integrated video chat feature to do great things together. 

There are three main ways to share your board: 

  • By giving access to people in your organization (all users or selected ones),

  • By sharing it with guests from outside your organization (this is available only on the standalone version of Whiteboards—www.whiteboards.io), 

  • By embedding the whiteboard anywhere on the web with an iFrame or embed URL.

Additionally, our Atlassian apps (Whiteboards for Jira and Whiteboards for Confluence) have additional access permissions: 

  • Boards attached to a Jira issue —anyone with access to the Jira issue can access and edit the attached board.

  • Boards attached to a Jira project—project boards are public by default. This means that everyone in your organization can access a project board even if they don't have access to the associated Jira project. You can restrict access to individual users using the "Share" settings dialog (see the process below).

  • Boards added to a Confluence page—anyone with access to that Confluence page can access and edit the added board.

  • Boards added to a Confluence space—anyone with access to the Confluence space can access the board.


To start:

  1. Open your board.

  2.  Look to the upper left corner for the share icon, next to the board name.

  3.  Click on it and select one of the three tabs to choose a way of sharing. When the window is opened, the first view shows Your organization sharing options.

Sharing the board with the whole organization 

To work together with everyone from your organization, all you have to do is give them the name of the board or send them a sharing link. 

By default, the board is visible to everyone in the organization on the Whiteboards dashboard, so they can view and access it from there.

You can change the board from team to private when creating a board or through the options explained in this article.

If you need a direct link to the board to send to your team:

  1. Select Everybody under Who in your organization can view and edit this board.

  2. Copy the share link and send it, for instance, via Slack or any other communicator you use.


  3. Click Save.

Sharing the board with selected organization members

NOTE: This feature is only available on the Pro plan.

Sometimes, you may want to work on things only with selected people from your organization. To do that:

  1. Open the Your organization tab.

  2. Change the setting to Only accepted users under Who in your organization can view and edit this board.

  3. Copy the share link and send it to your team members.
     

  4. Click Save.
  5. Once they open the link, you will get a notification to accept or reject their access. Click Accept to have them join the board.

TIP: You can also manage pending requests in the sharing window under Manage invites >> Pending.


When you reject someone, you will see them under Rejected in the sharing modal. Clicking the vertical ellipsis gives you an option to accept that person or remove them from the list.

After being rejected, they will see the information that access was denied.

Once everyone joins the board, you can see their avatar or initials in the top right corner.

NOTE: If someone is greyed out, it means that they’ve accessed the board, but they’ve not been active in the last hour. After 24h their avatar will disappear from the list.

Users on the board can have two settings:

  1. Can edit
  2. No access.

You can always revoke access to the board from the sharing options. Open the sharing window and change their setting from Can edit to No access. That collaborator will no longer have access to the board.

Sharing the board with external guests

If you want to work with someone who’s not a part of your organization and you’d rather not add them to the team, you can always share your board with external collaborators for 30 days

To start: 

  1. Open the sharing window.

  2. Switch the tab to Guest access.

  3. Provide the person’s email address and click Invite. That will send them an email with an access link.

  4. (Optional) You can also copy and send invited guests the sharing link on your own.

Once someone invited wants to open the board, they need to log in or register using the same email as provided in the invite. This will give them access to the board without adding them to your organization. They will only be able to work on this board. 

You can always open the sharing modal to see who has access and reinvite them or remove them from the board.

NOTE: Please be aware that external guests have access for 30 days, then the access is revoked. You can always invite them again to continue working together.

Embedding the board on the web 

You can also add your board to any website with an iFrame code or embed URL and share it with the world in this way. That will give only viewing rights to anyone seeing the board, they won’t be able to change anything on it. 

To do that: 

  1. Open the sharing window.

  2. Go to the Embed tab. 

  3. Click Enable embedding to get the codes needed to add your whiteboard to a website.
     

  4. Copy the embed URL or iframe code and install it on your site.  Some services only support iframe code while for others, the embed URL will be enough (ie. Confluence). Check with your provider to see which one is better for you.

     

  5. Select if you want your current zoom and focus to be the thumbnail for your board on the website where it’s installed. 

TIP: If you ever want to turn off the board view from your site, you can remove the code or refresh authorization keys. Refreshing the keys will deactivate the old codes and URLs and generate new ones for you. 

  • No labels

This page has no comments.