Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

...

  • Really fast, easy, and intuitive since the team doesn’t need to think of estimation values, but only compare one issue to another. Recommended for:

    • Teams that are new to estimation;

    • Mature teams that want to speed up the estimation process;

    • For any other team that prefers a visual representation and interaction;

  • Designed for making quick and rough estimations of a large batch of issues (50+), still, highly adopted by teams with a small (<20) number of issues per estimation session;

  • Considered as an estimation session with a low level of issue discussion comparing to standard Planning Poker, still, a team and session moderator can easily adjust it to their needs.

...

  1. A moderator starts the Relative session and selects issues to be estimated.

  2. A moderator invites participants to the session via a sharable link. Alternatively, the moderator shares the screen with participants and interacts on their behalf of them

  3. The first participant places the top issue on the virtual wall.
  4. Next participant places the next top issue on the virtual wall relative to the first issue:

    • if it’s smaller, it gets placed on the left;

    • if it’s bigger, it gets placed on the right;

    • if it’s around the same, then it should be placed below (forming a column)

  5. Next participant may:

    • either place a user story card from the pile on the virtual wall using the same rules as above;

    • or move a card already placed on the board together with a comment explaining this move.

  6. The team continues to take turns placing issues until the pile is finally depleted and all issues are on the virtual wall.

  7. If required, the team can use the Voting option where participants can vote for a place for a specific user story.
  8. It is the time to fine-tune the order by moving issues one at a time with a few words of explanation.

  9. When everybody is OK with the outcome, the issues are ordered left to right, smallest to largest.

  10. The last step is to assign estimation values corresponding to each column (usually with the Fibonacci sequence).

  11. Save the assigned estimation values to the issues.

...

  1. Create Relative session:
    • Choose the name for your session or go with a pre-set one;
    • Switch Private mode ON if you wish to limit participant's access and ability to configure the session. Consult Public vs. Private sessions for more details
  2. Manage participants:
    • Add your team members to the participants list;
    • Select a dedicated moderator to facilitate the session or keep the Moderator field empty to enable session controls for everyone 
      Image Modified
  3. Select issues:
    • Use JQL to narrow the search;
    • Select issues you would like to estimate one-by-one or in bulk (for sprints or a backlog)

...

From inside the session click Configuration (a cog icon) or Participants from the top right to update session settings. Session scope can be also re-configured from the main Relative session window using add, create and remove Add issue, Create issue and Remove from the session (appears during card dragging process) options: 


Image RemovedImage RemovedImage AddedImage Added

Once the session was started, you can share the session link with your team by copying it from the browser's address bar, the bread crumbs section, or from Manage participants screen; click Participants button located in the top corner to open it:

Image RemovedImage Added


You can also remove inactive team members from the session. Inactive participants have a grey indicator next to their avatars, while active have a green one:

...

  • start and manage the voting process;
  • submit the final votes;
  • save estimates;
  • the moderator has a crown next to an avatar;
  • for private sessions, only the moderator can manage participants and session configurations.

The moderator is displayed with a crown next to an avatar (except if everyone is a moderator).

If there is no moderator selected (default state), all the participants have access to all the features mentioned above. Please note that the moderator's role in a public session doesn't have an exclusive power to manage participants; every participant has full access to participants and moderator management settings. While for private sessions participants are managed by moderators only. 

...

While on the session page, drag the issues from the deck (left screen side) to the virtual wall (right screen side): 

Image RemovedImage Added

Continue dragging issues from the deck. You can drop the issue in the following places:

1) within the existing column (if an item is comparable in size):

Image RemovedImage Added

2) to the left (or right), if the item is considerably smaller (greater) than the existing issues on the board:

Image RemovedImage Added

3) place the issue between two existing columns:

Image RemovedImage Added

Voting option

The moderator can activate the voting option and ask participants to vote for a "column" for a specific user story.  

Click on the raising hand person from the top of the "To be estimated" part to start the Voting:

Image RemovedAlternatively, the team can vote for every single story in sequence using Automatic issue pickup for voting.

In order to enable the voting option the moderator has to expand the Voting panel using the arrow icon:

Image Added

When enabled, the Automatic issue pickup for voting option will place the next issue from the session scope list to the voting area once the final vote for the current issue has been cast. When disabled, the moderator will manually control issues to vote for. 

Image Added

Drag and drop a user story to the voting area to start voting:

Image RemovedImage Added

Then Now participants can vote for existing or for a new column columns for this the selected user story. Winner or winners will be highlighted in green: 

Image Removed

Voting status is displayed both in buckets and on Participants' avatars:

Image Removed

If needed, voting progress can be reset and repeated if the The personal voting process options are:

  • in order to cast a vote, a participant should click on a like icon or a header in the preferred column;
  • participants can change votes an unlimited number of times before the voting ends;
  • the voting process is unbiased, participants don't see votes or cursors of other team members;
  • the voting progress might be monitored using status marks on participants' avatars;
  • the voting is finished automatically when all the participants have voted;
  • the moderator can finish the personal voting process at any time by clicking on the Reveal votes button;
  • during the personal voting phase, the moderator(s) can freely move cards around the board, but without options of adding new or removing old columns to avoid conflicts with participants' voting progress:

Image Added

Once personal votes are revealed, the following options are available:

  • the winner(s) will be highlighted with blue Accept buttons, other existing or potential columns will have standard grey Accept buttons;
  • the final vote is cast by the moderator by clicking on the Accept button inside the appropriate column or by dragging the issue there;
  • the moderator can use the Reset voting option to restart personal voting process in case the team wants to come to a consensus

...

Image Removed

...

  • ;
  • during the final voting phase, the moderator or moderators can freely move cards around the board and even add or remove columns, which might lead to a loss of personal votes:

Image Added

Depending on a team and flow, different session scenarios are possible, like voting for an a single issue, or for every issue from the whole session scope. 

Placing estimates

At any moment of time, but usually after your "To be estimatedSession scope" deck is finally emptyempties, you can start filling in estimate values for the buckets where it says "No value":

...

Please note that additional Labels might be added on the left from estimation values fields at any point of the estimation process:

...

  • When happy with what you see, you can click on the 'Save estimates' button (bottom right) to conclude the session and update the issues' respective estimation field. 

    NOTE: all the estimations are saved to:

    .
    •  for Scrum boards of Company Managed (Classic) projects;

    • an estimation field selected during session creation or configuration for Kanban boards of Company Managed (Classic) projects and all board types of Team Managed (Next Gen) projects;
  • Then click on the 'Save' to confirm the action:

...