Contents        

In order to successfully Synchronize the Jira Resolution field all of the following steps need to be done

Remove post function that sets the Resolution to Done

Why

Post function runs after the transition, and it will overwrite any value sent by Syncrhonizer with the value from the post function. As a result, resolution will always be set to “Done”.

How

https://support.atlassian.com/jira-cloud-administration/docs/configure-advanced-issue-workflows/#Add-a-post-function

  1. Select Settings > Issues.

  2. Click Workflows and then Edit for the relevant workflow.

  3. Select the transition to Done status:

    • In diagram mode, select the transition arrow.

    • In text mode, select the transition's name from the Transitions (id) column.

  4. Open the post functions tab:

    • In diagram mode, click Post functions in the properties panel to show the triggers configured for the transition.

    • In text mode, select the Post functions tab.

  5. Click Delete post function.

  6. Publish Draft to finalize your changes.

Make sure that resolution is set

Why

We need to make sure Resolution is filled in when an issue is closed, to stay aligned with Best practices on using the "Resolution" field | Atlassian Cloud | Atlassian Documentation

Without a post function, it will be the responsibility of the user and the Syncrhonizer to set the Resolution during a transition to Done status.

To make sure users don’t forget to set the Resolution, we associate closing the issue with a Resolution screen.

Make sure there is a screen that sets Resolution

https://support.atlassian.com/jira-cloud-administration/docs/manage-issue-screens/

  1. Select Settings > Issues.

  2. Click Screens and then search for Resol*

  3. By default, Jira should have a “Resolve Issue Screen”. If it does not, create one.

  4. Make sure that screen has the Resolution field.

Associate Resolution screen with transition to Done

https://support.atlassian.com/jira-cloud-administration/docs/configure-advanced-issue-workflows

  1. Select Settings > Issues.

  2. Click Workflows and then Edit for the relevant workflow.

  3. Select the transition to Done status and click Edit

  4. From the screen dropdown select “Resolve Issue Screen” (or your custom screen)

  5. Publish Draft to finalize your changes.


  • No labels

This page has no comments.