Child pages
  • Standard Session

Contents        

Agile Poker Cloud

This part of the documentation relates to Agile Poker for Jira Cloud. If you use Jira Server go to the Agile Poker for Jira Server documentation.

Introduction

Standard session integrates Planning Poker game into Jira Cloud environment, facilitating discussion and results in estimations based on consensus in a convenient way.

Standard session is a must-have Jira integrated estimation tool based on Planning Poker game. It facilitates discussion and results in estimations based on consensus. Might be used by any team, whether you are a remote team or you work from the same office; the main requirement to all team members is to participate at the same time.

Any team member can join the session from a Board/Backlog view of a specific Jira project (checkout Navigation for Classic and Next-Gen projects article). Please note that each board has only one running Standard session.

Session settings

  • After joining the session, select Configure from Session dropdown (located at the top-right corner) to open Settings window:

  • Session Settings tab:

Estimation values. Choose one of the commonly used sets of estimation values, like Fibonacci sequence, Modified Fibonacci, T-shirt sizes, SML (mini T-shirt sizes) or use any custom set your team prefers.

Although estimation field must be numeric, you can display a string for voting values, just use the following format of a string equals a number: “Small=1”

Moderator. Choose a moderator to give him exclusive control over Agile Poker session. Otherwise, everyone could control the session.

Participants. Pick the people that estimate with you. You can remove people that are currently disconnected from the estimation session.

Observers. Pick the people that participate in the session with you, but who don't need to vote. Might be rookies, people outside the team, scrum masters or project managers that don't do estimations, etc. 

Timer values. During the estimation session, a moderator might launch a timer to limit discussion or voting time. This is the place where timer options are configured.

Suggested Estimate. Select what suggested estimate you will see once all voles are done: Average or Consensus.

  • Global settings tab:

Adjust analytics and error settings.

Estimation process

  • Navigation tips. Every new user is prompt to go through navigation tips, that are also available from session navigation menu. Click Session → Take a tour to open it:

  • Backlog view. Here is the preview of your backlog. Actions that can be performed:
    • observe type of Jira issue, its name, ID and current estimation value;

    • filter the issues for a particular session; click on the edit icon next to “Picked issue” and “JQL query” to modify them;

    • select issues for estimation by clicking on blue “Estimate” button on the left of issue name (appears on hower) or on estimation field of an issue (the field on the left, that displays “-” if estimation value is missing); for resolved issues, “Review” button replaces “Estimate”

    • hide/unhide backlog list;

    • check out which issue is under estimation (marked with “Estimating” indicator) or review (marked with “Reviewing” indicator);

    • pick an issue to see the details on the left, might differ from estimating issue;

    • observe total Story Points value of a sprint or filtered part of the backlog next to the “Estimate”;

    • Reload issue list if necessary:

  • Active issue. Here you can see the issue selected for estimation. Everyone in this poker session can see the same issue here.

  • Issue details. Appear on the right-hand side after clicking on the issue under estimation or review from the Backlog, includes default and all text custom fields. Almost all the fields are editable:

  • Participants. Check your team members participating in the estimation. Moderator has a crown icon on the avatar. Inactive participants' avatars are greyed-out. Once all the estimates are submitted or the moderator clicks on Show estimated button, chosen values are shown next to the team members' avatars and the discussion phase starts.

Clicking on the Eye icon switches you to the Observer mode - you participate in the session but without the need for voting. Observers have eye icon indicators next to their avatars. In order to switch back to Voting mode, use Cards icon next to the Participants title or Here:

Once all the estimates are submitted or the moderator clicks on Show estimated button, chosen values are shown next to the team members' avatars and the discussion phase starts:

  • Voting area.

Your estimation for Story Points” part stands for displaying estimation values set for this session. You can easily switch between dropdown and card view by clicking on the view button:

For the dropdown view, the “Triangulation” panel is available. It dynamically shows resolved issues with the same estimation value as the selected (hovered) one for easing the selection process. Issues for triangulation are picked up from the same project with priority for the lately closed issues of the same type and with the same components.

Below there is “Reference issues” panel - 3 static pre-selected issues for default references:

“Final estimation for Story Points” replaces “Your estimation for Story Points” once all the participants have voted or the moderator clicked on Show estimates button, indicating a new estimation phase - final estimation. Knowing all the team estimation votes from the Participants section, the discussion starts. Below you can find examples of moderator and participant views:

Once the discussion is done, the final estimation is selected and approved by clicking on Save or Save & next on the moderator’s side. Reset option here restarts the voting process for the issue under estimation. That’s it for this issue!

Timer. A moderator can launch timer to limit discussion or voting time. Timer options might be configured in Session settings [link to Session settings of Standard session]

Leaving the session

  • When a team member steps out of the estimation process, he should use Leave session option from Session menu. In this case the member is removed from Participants list, his avatar is gone from participants area. This colleague can easily re-join the session afterward.

  • In case of using “Hide dialog” or simply closing the tab, the user stays in the participant list and affects the estimation process: Final estimation process will not be automatically launched upon submitting all other votes.

  • If a person left the session, she or he can be removed from the participants list from Session settings [link]

  • No labels

This page has no comments.